Futurism is powered by Vocal creators. You support Serena Fix by reading, sharing and tipping stories... more

Futurism is powered by Vocal.
Vocal is a platform that provides storytelling tools and engaged communities for writers, musicians, filmmakers, podcasters, and other creators to get discovered and fund their creativity.

How does Vocal work?
Creators share their stories on Vocal’s communities. In return, creators earn money when they are tipped and when their stories are read.

How do I join Vocal?
Vocal welcomes creators of all shapes and sizes. Join for free and start creating.

To learn more about Vocal, visit our resources.

Show less

Wicca; The Questions, Answered

A Researched Topic

This is the Goddess's Pentagram

Wicca: These are the questions, answered. There are good aspects of it, and bad ones as well. What is Wicca you may ask? Wicca is a modern form of Paganism, and is also a nature-based religion. Wicca is a recognized religion, while witchcraft itself is not considered a religion. Thus, Wicca might be best described as a modern religion, based on ancient witchcraft traditions. Contrary to what those who choose to persecute or lie about Wiccans wish to believe, Wicca is a very peaceful, harmonious, and balanced way of life, with oneness with the God and Goddess in which they believe in, and all which exists. I will go further into their beliefs, practices, and good and bad aspects of Wicca.

There are multiple forms of Wiccan Beliefs. Most Wiccans, however, believe in two deities, a God and a Goddess. Many regard the Goddess and the God as representing the female and male aspects of the All. These deities are not “out there somewhere”; they are immanent in the world. Others regard the God and Goddess as two separate deities, representing the male and female principles. Most Wiccans also believe in seven principles, but I’ll state the short versions: the deity/ deities gives life to the universe, and it transcends gender, space, and time; the deity/ deities, are inherent in all people and things; the Earth is a manifestation of the deity/deities; they believe in psychic powers and that each of them is born with their own psychic gifts; they believe in magic; they believe in reincarnation; and that sex is sacred, which means that rape is forbidden and that sex should only be done with the one they were meant to be with. Most Wiccans believe in karma. This is known as the Threefold Law. the Threefold Law says that whatever you put out into the world, it will come back to you three times. Some Wiccans argue about whether their deeds come back three separate times, or one time, but three times as strong. But that is not the point. The point is simply “like attracts like.” They believe in five elements instead of the standard four. Many traditions hold a belief in the five classical elements, although they are seen as symbolic as representations of the phases of matter. These five elements are invoked during many magical rituals, notably when consecrating a magic circle. The Wiccan Elements are air, fire, water, earth, and spirit.

There are multiple practices that Wiccans do. They celebrate Sabbats in the Wheel of the Year. These Sabbats are not taken from Christian holidays, for the Sabbats existed long before the Christian holidays. The first holiday of the Witch’s Year is Samhain, also known as Halloween or All Hallow’s Eve. It is basically the Witches' New Year. It falls on October 31 in the northern hemisphere and April 30 in the southern hemisphere. Then there’s Yuletide, which is basically Christmas but for Witches. It falls on December 21 or 22 in the northern hemisphere, and June 21in the southern hemisphere. Next is Imbolc, also known as Candlemass, which is mainly just Witches celebrating the return of the light of spring and summer. It falls on February 1 or 2 in the northern hemisphere, and August 1 in the southern hemisphere. Then there’s Ostara, which is Easter but for Witches. It falls on March 21 or 22 in the northern hemisphere, and September 21 or 22 in the southern hemisphere. Next, is Beltane, also known as May Eve or May Day, it basically celebrates the return of spring. It falls on April 30 to May 1 in the northern hemisphere, and October 31to November 1 in the southern hemisphere. Then there’s Litha, it celebrates the beginning of summer. It falls on June 21 or 22 in the northern hemisphere, and December 21 in the southern hemisphere. Next, is Lughnasadh also known as Lammas, it celebrates the harvesting of crops. It falls on July 31 or August 1 in the northern hemisphere, and February 1 in the southern hemisphere. Lastly, is Mabon, also known as Modron, it is the celebration of the autumn equinox. It falls on September 21 or 22 in the northern hemisphere, and March21 in the southern hemisphere. They celebrate these holidays by decorating and doing rituals, either in a Coven, which is a group of Wiccans, or by themselves.  They do Rites of Passage either in a coven, or a solitary Wiccan would do a Rites of Passage for him or herself becoming a Wiccan. Another practice they have is that they have a Book of Shadows. A Book of Shadows contains anything the coven or owner wants in it, from herbs and stones or crystals to meditation sessions they had with themselves that stuck out from the other meditation sessions they have had. 

Here are some of the positive aspects of Wicca. Like previously stated, Wicca is a nature-based religion. They believe the earth is sacred and should not be taken for granted. So they do their best to preserve nature. Another good aspect is that, again, like previously stated, Wicca is a very peaceful, harmonious, and balanced way of life. Another good aspect, is that most Wiccans try their best to better themselves through the workings of their magic. They’re always looking for different ways to better themselves and the world around them. One last good aspect is that Wicca isn't an organized religion. Most Wiccans take away and add different things and beliefs of the religion to make it their own. In Wicca, there is no right or wrong way to practice. 

There are a few negative aspects of Wicca. I’ll start with the bad. There are some Wiccans who don’t believe in the Threefold Law, so they do something they call Black Magic, which is nothing but them getting revenge on someone or doing spells not to better themselves, but to be greedy. In traditional Wicca, there is no such thing as Black Magic or White Magic, although some Wiccans refuse to believe that. Another bad aspect of Wicca would be, they are often called Satanists, or Worshipers of the Devil, and they get a bad name for it, even though that isn’t the slightest bit true; they do not even believe in the Devil or Satan. Although, they believe in demons and other supernatural beings. 

In conclusion, I hope this informative story gave you the answers you wanted about Wicca. Fun fact: I am Wiccan! So most of this information I already knew! 

Now Reading
Wicca; The Questions, Answered
Read Next
Brutalist Stories #49